childhood musings

Mrs. Popatco was my second grade teacher. Classes then were arranged in sections and I belonged to section 2. We were not the top class, but Mrs. Popatco made sure that all of us develop the skills in reading and writing. She also made us sing and dance. I know the memories of that year are not as vivid as I want it to be, but there is something about that teacher that changed my life. At the end of the school-year, she announced that I will be recognized for my academic skills, and because i ranked first in her class, I will be joining the top class for the next school-year. That was actually the first time somebody, aside from my family, actually believed in my capabilities.

More than anything else that we do and that we learn from school, it’s always that one precious chance of learning how to make other people feel special that will be mostly remembered of us. So while we still have our chance, let’s not just sit around in idleness. Start making a difference.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

